Epi-ic preparations

27 May
    I’m not allergic to bees. At least, I don’t think I am. Well actually, I’m not entirely sure. See, the only time I can remember being stung was during soccer practice. I was six and it was the only season I played. I assume I was playing goalie because I remember standing still at the opposite end of the field as a glom of kids swarmed the ball. I was most likely picking dandelions when I came across said stinger. I remember telling my dad that my hand hurt and he told me that I must have been stung by a bee. I think he put an ice pack on it and we may have even left practice early. That being said, I’m not 100% sure of about the accuracy of this account. I also hear that you can develop an allergy to bees. I’ve rationalized that while I am not scared of being stung, it may be a good idea to at least be prepared. Queen Ma has Benadryl tablets, fast acting strip you put under your tongue, kids Benadryl, and sting relief spray. Still I called my doctor.

    “Hi. I’d like to see when the last time I had a physical was.”
    “Looks like it was back in 2009. Would you like to schedule one?”
    “Yes, that would be great”
    “How’s next Wednesday at 4:30?”
    “Perfect”
    “Great. You are all set”
    “Um, Well I have another question. Um,I recently became a beekeeper and I was wondering if the doctor would prescribe me with an EpiPen. I’m pretty sure I am not allergic but I’d like to keep one incase someone comes onto my property who is. Could she write me a prescription?
    (pause)
    “She can write you a prescription but she’d have to see you first.”
    “Right yes. I know. I know that this is a weird request. She can’t just give them out to anyone who says they are a beekeeper. OK. so then I’ll ask her on Wednesday. OK. Thanks bye”

    Don’t judge me for not wanting to die like Macaulay Culkin at the end of My Girl. Is this the only movie with bees in the story line?

3 Responses to “Epi-ic preparations”

  1. Alexis May 31, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Love this post. Very creative title. Keep em coming!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Two Deep « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - June 3, 2011

    […] Of course, we had to smoke them before we started. We didn’t do a full inspection because there had been a tornado watch/ potential thunderstorm brewing in the area. Bee’s can handle the hot weather but they despise being damp. The last thing I wanted was for the hive to be caught in a storm without the lid on. Mike was careful not to squash any of the bees. A dead bee gives off a smell that can alarm other bees. We still have 0 on the sting count and I’d like to keep it that way for as long as possible since I still don’t know how I’ll react. […]

  2. The Sting « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - June 22, 2011

    […] by how much it throbbed. It didn’t swell or turn extremely red. At least I know I am not allergic. Finger, post […]

Leave a Reply

