Just a teaspoon of honey

30 May

During a department gathering last week I overheard someone say that it has been a terrible year for his allergies. I made the comment that the high pollen count in the air was good for my bees. Of course, I then had to explain that I keep a hive and yes, I actually had a backyard in Brooklyn. I didn’t think twice about the pollen count until Lovebug and I went to Jersey this weekend. We spend many summer weekends at the shore with my folks. On Saturday morning I was suffering from the worst stuffy nose, sinus congestion and constant sneezing. My dad gave me a Loradine pill from his allergy med stash but I was still struggling. He also made a comment about how I should buy some local honey to eat. Apparently if you eat honey made from local pollen, your body will become less affected by allergies. My parents, Lovebug and I went to a local flea market and sure enough, someone was selling honey. It is hard to say exactly who makes it based on the label. I have had a teaspoon with breakfast and haven’t been sneezing since.

Local Jersey Honey

One Response to “Just a teaspoon of honey”

  1. Matt May 30, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    I’m going to have to try that. I got some honey from Stiles Apiaries in Ford, NJ via Fresh Direct.

Leave a Reply

