The Queen of all queens

17 Jun

Like a queen bee, my grandmother was the epicenter of my colony-sized family. Having one son and seven daughters, my grandmother managed to keep most of the family within a 30 mile radius. Even my 10 cousins are in the NJ area. There was never a holiday or a birthday (and there are many) that didn’t have at least 15-20 relatives in attendance. Even those worker bee aunts that live out-of-state manage to visit multiple times a year. What is more remarkable is the amount of coordination my mother and her sisters have. Just like worker bees in a hive, my aunts each take on a task and always come together to create endless buffets of food and dessert. I credit this to my matriarchal grandmother. She was the master of hosting a party in her apron and from the kitchen. Even the birds in the neighborhood ate well. My grandmother was endlessly generous with her time and energy. She will be missed greatly.

Grandma and me at my brother's wedding 12/06


Grandma at my cousin's wedding 07/08


Grandma at her great-grandson's christening


My aunts and Grandma 10/06


Six of the sisters


Grandma and her daughters

5 Responses to “The Queen of all queens”

  1. Mike June 17, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    She was a wonderful woman and I’m glad I had the pleasure of knowing her. The most die hard yankee fan I’ve ever met!

  2. missuv June 17, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    You look like her – both of you, really beautiful ladies. I’ve enjoyed hearing about her influence in your life and your love for her. My thoughts are with you this weekend.

  3. Kathleen June 20, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Thanks for the beautiful images and words.

  4. Tam June 23, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    You’re all lucky to share such a close resemblance to her. And I love Grandmas that are all about the Yanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Sting « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - June 22, 2011

    […] had just got back to Brooklyn after being in New Jersey celebrating my Grandmother’s life. We hadn’t inspected the hive in a week and a half and I was anxious to get in there. […]

Leave a Reply

