The Sting

22 Jun

It happened. Our perfect record has come to an end. I’ve been stung. I totally deserved it too.

I had just got back to Brooklyn after being in New Jersey celebrating my Grandmother’s life. We hadn’t inspected the hive in a week and a half and I was anxious to get in there. Earlier in the day it looked like it was going to rain but then the forecast said that it wouldn’t start until later in the evening. Mike had to volunteer at the coop at 7:30 so we had to be quick about it. Without discussing a plan of action or talking about who would do what, we started the inspection. Just as we started, we heard Deb pull in the driveway and told her to hurry up and join us (and bring a camera since mine was dead). That is how unprepared we were, I didn’t even have a charged camera!

We got through the top deep and 8 frames of the bottom deep before it happened. There were more bees in the hive so it is more intense. The 9th frame had a beetle on it and as I went to tell Mike to kill it, it happened. I got stung. I didn’t freak out and drop the frame or cry. I put the frame in the hive and walked away. The bee keeping books say that when you get stung, you should immediately smoke the sting. The sting sends a smell signal to other bees that there is danger. Smoking it masked the smell. You aren’t suppose to pull our the stinger but scrape it with your finger nail instead. I’m not sure why. Mike said that my finger was still pulsing after I scraped it, but I didn’t notice. I was too startled by how much it throbbed. It didn’t swell or turn extremely red. At least I know I am not allergic.

Finger, post sting

5 Responses to “The Sting”

  1. Mike June 22, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    You’re a champ!!! Why not mention the sting you got this morning as well??? Yeah, I called you out. LOL.

    • Debra June 22, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

      Yikes! Glad it wasn’t worse! And lol to mike’s comment

      • brooklynlovebug June 23, 2011 at 10:25 am #

        i plead the 5th about the sting yesterday. bees aren’t dangerous! Although, my finger is still swollen.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hive Inspection # 4 « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - June 28, 2011

    […] We had two deeps to look through and plenty more bees to deal with. Aside from the fact that I got stung , it was a […]

  2. Houston, we have a problem « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - July 3, 2011

    […] Jul On Friday, Deb and I inspected the hive. We haven’t done an inspection since I got stung. I didn’t have work, so we decided to do it mid day when there is more sunlight in the yard. […]

Leave a Reply

