Overthrowing the Queen

23 Jul

After the new queen arrived, Mike and I went on a mission to take out our old queen. I have been in contact with the NYC Beekeepers Meet-Up group and they told me that the biggest rookie mistake is introducing a new queen without taking out the old one. The bees are so loyal to their current queen that they’d kill a new one if you introduce her too soon. So even though we were convinced that we didn’t have a queen anymore since we haven’t seen her in a while, we went searching for her.

I decided that we shouldn’t even bother looking at the top deep since we haven’t seen and queen activity up there. I reviewed our notes and decided that we should go straight to the brood nest.

The first frame that Mike pulled out had the queen on it. I felt like I hit the lottery. I frantically grabbed my tweezers (yes, the same ones that I use to make my eyebrows impeccable) and a ziplock bag. I didn’t have to try hard to get her in the bag and I didn’t even get stung. We quickly put back together the hive so a riot or robbing didn’t start.

Old queen in a ziplock

Then came the moment of truth. What do we do with her? The options were to crush her, drive her three miles away so she can’t return home, or freeze her. Crushing her was totally out of the questions. It’s bad enough that we were murderers. I didn’t want to have to do it violently. Driving her away also seemed pretty extreme since she wouldn’t be able to clean or eat herself. So, that’s how she ended up in the freezer. This would probably freak most people out but I’m used to having bugs in the refrigerator. My mother was a science teacher and there were always creepy things sitting on the shelf next to the leftovers from dinner.

Next step is getting the new queen in there. I want to give her a name. Any suggestions?

4 Responses to “Overthrowing the Queen”

  1. Honey Pat July 23, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Queen Noor
    queenlyn

  2. Matt July 25, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Anne Beeleyn
    Elizabee II

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crowning of the New Queen « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - July 25, 2011

    […] day after we put our old queen in the freezer, Mike and I introduced our new queen. As per the suggestion of Jim Fisher, I ordered a New […]

  2. Cleaning House « Lovebugs and the Brooklyn Bees - April 23, 2012

    […] them in the freezer so that any remaining nuisances would be killed. I know, this isn’t the first time some strange bee related thing was in my […]

Leave a Reply

