Sad Face

12 Aug

This happened over a week ago but I haven’t be able to bring myself to blog about it. Mike and I checked the hive the other night to find it completely empty. No a single bee was left. No honey either. It seems like the bees have absconded from the hive. They do that when they don’t think the hive is a fit place to live. I don’t blame them really with the beetles, the robbing, and the heat wave we had in Brooklyn. The new queen probably was released from her cage and then told everyone to pack their bags, they were hitting the road. They uncapped all of the honey so they could take it and now the bottom of the hive is filled with wax. I think the last time we suspected robbing was just the hive in the middle of moving.
So if you come across a wild honey bee hive, it probably use to belong to me. I hope wherever they are, they make it. Maybe next year we will start over but the thought of it now is too sad.

5 Responses to “Sad Face”

  1. LN August 12, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    SAD. Can I unlike this post? :`(

  2. beekarp August 12, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    did any of them leave a note saying ‘we bee gone?’

  3. Carolyn August 12, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    sad face

  4. Becky Parish August 14, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    So sad. I really enjoyed following your journey. I hope you’ll give it another try again next year!!

  5. Honey Pat August 14, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    Maybe bees fly south at the end of summer!!!

Leave a Reply

