Grand Opening

15 May

It had been three weeks since I got the bees into the hive. I hadn’t opened the hive to do an inspection because it’s been too cold and too rainy. I’ve bee poking my head in to feed the girls every few days so I know that something is happening in there. However, Deb made a really good point to me. If I didn’t check to see if there was a queen, I would be in trouble. Worker bees only live 6 weeks in the summer. If there wasn’t a queen in the hive, I would only have a short amount of time to find a replacement Queen in time for the current bees to raise new bees before they kicked the bucket. I hadn’t really considered this because I was so concerned about the weather. So even though it wasn’t the warmest of days and there wasn’t the best amount of sunlight, I opened the hive. Sadly, I didn’t have an extra pair of hands on deck to take pictures.

I was very hesitate and nervous about opening since I have been stung twice already. I wore full gear and gloves. I didn’t see the queen but I did see evidence that she was there. There was lots of capped brood (bees being developed). I saw eggs which means that the queen had laid them within 3 days. The bees are making good progress making honeycomb on about 5 of the frames. The next time I open the hive I hope that I will see some new bees being born. It’s always exciting to see the bee life cycle continue.

One Response to “Grand Opening”

  1. Emily Heath May 15, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    All this rain is so hard to deal with – when will summer start?! Glad your queen’s still doing ok.

Leave a Reply

